Why I became vegetarian

Bonjour guys ! I’ve realized that I’ve been saying on my blog, especially in my recipes articles, that I am vegetarian without explaining why. I don’t believe that I need to justify my choice or my way of life. If I’ve decided to write about this topic, it’s to enlighten you about it because many people have prejudices about vegetarians. On the other hand, I’ve noticed that more and more people are interested in the subject, and even if they don’t want to be vegetarian ( yet ), they ask questions, and it’s a good start.

Moreover, politicians began to be concerned about the subject, mostly for economical and ethical reasons. Indeed, producing meat costs a lot, and in France there have been some slaughterhouses issues recently. Plus, the environmental impact of producing meat can’t be diminished either. To finish, not eating meat is healthier. These are the three main reasons why I became vegetarian : the animals, the planet, and my health.

-The animal protection : 

I could write 16373 lines in this article, but since I want people to read it and not be discouraged after the first paragraph, I will try to make it short and straight to the essential. I love animals, I can’t conceive killing them in the only purpose to eat them. As a child, I used to eat meat, I wasn’t aware about what was going on, and my parents were cooking for me,  so I’ve never asked myself if it was wrong or right. Also, my grand parents have a farm with many chickens. They are raised outdoors, not stuffed, they have corn, a field just for them… But it doesn’t make the killing right. It’s even worse : you raise chicken, feed them, take care of them, and then one day you cut their throats, pluck them, bake them, eat them and…poop them.

I mean, look how cute :

How is it possible to murder those beings without any guilt ? Of course, most of people don’t kill animals themselves, they buy them at the butchery or at the supermarket, so it doesn’t look like an animal anymore. There are slices of meat made with 100 different beasts, chicken nuggets made with the whole carcass ( it happened many times to my father and brothers to find bones in their nuggets at the McDo, I mean, WTF ??? )

Also, meat from the drugstore is full of sh**t : additives, conservatives, flavors, and sometimes fake meat. As for the butcher, he doesn’t add all those craps, but slaughterhouses who kill the animals for him are not transparent. Animals are tortured in those horrid places, it’s a bloody carnage…

Forgive the brutality of the following images, but picture worth a thousand more than words :

PETA is one of the greatest animal rights organization. I invite you to go on their website to learn more about the topic : http://www.peta.org/issues/animals-used-for-food/factory-farming/

This can’t be supported anymore, it has to change. It’s completely inhuman, free, and useless.
-The environmental impact :

Not eating meat is obviously not eating animals, but there is an other reason which doesn’t come naturally to our mind : the environment. I will spare you the datas, analysis, numbers and so on. The point is that meat production is drying our soils, polluting our air, damaging our lands and I pass.

3addb76bb1be57cb9ade542bc30dcf78

I’ve read many articles on the topic, including this one :  http://science.time.com/2013/12/16/the-triple-whopper-environmental-impact-of-global-meat-production/
It’s important to give some credit to this matter because we live on this planet and it’s future is jeopardize because of us. We could remedy to this if only every one were aware of the critical situation. Information about the environmental impact of meat production is not shared enough.

 

There are many similar articles which have been written, and more are to come. The matter has been taking seriously for a few years, now it’s becoming crucial. I am afraid that the next major scourge will be about ressources…

-My health : 

The last main reason why I’ve stopped eating meat is because I believe that we are what we eat, and I am definitely not an animal eater. I’ve heard and red so many : « Vegetarian ? What about proteins ? Calcium ? Deficiencies ? »  Human being doesn’t need meat in order to survive. Proteins are in many alternatives ingredients such as tofu. It contains as much as proteins as a steak. Oleaginous are full of nutriments, and there are natural food supplements such as B12 vitamins, iron and many more.

I found the article published on the Harvard Health Publications, it’s very interesting, I’m sure it will answer most of your questions : http://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/becoming-a-vegetarian

A vegetarian diet will change your body from the inside out. Personally, it made me loose weight because most of the food I eat are vegetables and fruits, and there is nothing better than natural things for your body. I don’t use butter but oil ( olive, coconut, nut…), I don’t consume diary milk, yogurt, cheese… You might be thinking « Ok, so you just eat carrots, might be a littme boring and tasteless ? » Not it all. There are sooooo many recipes you can make, and delicious ones. There are many vegetarian recipes on my blog, but also online. Some websites are dedicated to the topic such as this one : http://www.vegetariantimes.com

 

As for going out, almost every restaurants have vegetarian plates. Even if it’s not written on the menu, you ask for a vegetarian plate and they won’t protest. It doesn’t cost more to be vegetarian, at least not in France. Meat is expensive, fruits and vegetables are not. There ranges of vegetables / fruits cans in the drugstores which are cheaper than fresh ones. I have the advantage to live in the country, so most of what I eat is fresh and from local producers.

It’s not easy to make this decision, not only because people judge you, but because it takes courage to change your way of life, no matter what it is. I was used to eat a certain way, and 2 years ago everything changed. Now I am in control of what’s in my body, I know where it’s from, and I feel better. I have lost fat, my skin is better, my hair too, I’m almost never sick… Even if I wanted to, I couldn’t write a bad point about being vegetarian, expect that I should have done it sooner.

I don’t judge any one’s way of life. I am the only vegetarian among my close family and friends, I am used to see people eating meat around me. Even if it makes me uncomfortable, I don’t debate with their decision. And they don’t questioned mine. Of course I would be pleased to see them eating less ( none ) meat, but I can’t force any one to be vegetarian.

This article is not a « you must be vegetarian » pamphlet. I wanted to talk about it to make you realize that it’s not just a piece of meat, it’s an actual being. Beyond the fact that you’re eating a corpse, I wanted to show that it involves more than just a veal or a chicken. It involves the planet we live in, and most important it involves your body and your health. Self-consciousness, sensitivity, durability and ethic are ones of the reasons why I’ve decided to be vegetarian. Let me know of you are vegetarian / vegan, or if you want to become one. Don’t hesitate to reach for me if you have any questions about the subject. I will be more than happy to help you. In the meantime, I wish you the best, may we all live together in peace.

Bisous, Marion. 

 


Laisser un commentaire

